How can GRE be secure?

Hi there, I’m new to Zscaler and have a question about the recommended connection method from an office to Zscaler. GRE is the recommended method. Deploy a GRE tunnel from your internal network, over the Internet to Zscaler. Sounds nice and simple. However how does this provide security if an attacker or snooper is in the traffic path? Let’s say some of the traffic from my office destined for the Internet is encrypted and some isn’t (which is normal). So the traffic goes to Zscaler and is scanned, and so is the return traffic/replies. The attacker then intercepts the reply traffic and inserts malicious code/malware/virus/worm/document change - which goes back onto the internal network inside the office. I think I must be not fully understanding how this stuff works. I can see it would be fine if 100% of all traffic destined to the Internet is encrypted 100% of the time but what about any traffic that isn’t encrypted - couldn’t an attacker intercept this on the way back from Zscaler? I think perhaps I don’t fully understand the recommended setup here. Can anybody enlighten me? Thanks, P.

GRE is not by design a secure protocol because it does not encrypt the payloads.

The GRE Tunnels are for creating locations to route the traffic directly to Zscaler. If security is of concern, then IPSEC would be of benefit to add encryption.

There would still be SSL/TLS available with GRE though this is still subject to attacks.

1 Like

May I ask you @Mr.Whiskers - why are you so concerned about security of Internet-bound traffic? In a traditional network, traffic hits onprem FW, then NAT is applied and it is being sent into a wild west. Attackers (MITM) can potentially do whatever they want. Hence, why all business critical apps must be TLS encrypted.