ZPA packet flow

Hi Guys,

hope you all are good and safe.

I’m new to Zscaler so trying to put all the possible way to get this understand as some things in my pipe line for working with this solution.
so here i want to understand the ZPA packet flow from end user machine perspective.
how Zapp decide that which traffic i need to tunnel for ZPA etc.
how certificates fit into the ZPA picture.

Thank you.

Well, there’s a lot to that, depending on the level of detail you’re looking for. For now I’ll restrict myself to a high-level perspective (which indeed means that it’s not 100% correct, but close enough for the purpose of this question). Feel free to reach out for a more detailed discussion.

I’m presuming you’re already aware of the functional components (Zscaler Client Connector (ZCC), ZPA Service Edge nodes (ZPA SE) and App Connectors. At initiation, all these components enroll into their own Zscaler certificate which is used to establish mutual authenticated TLS connections.
In this example we’ll make a user set up an SSH session to server01.safemarch.com

1. App Connectors establish a TLS connection to their closest ZPA SE at startup, which is used for configuration updates and signalling between Cloud and Connector
    Similarly, when started (and after authentication) ZCC establishes a TLS connection to its closest ZPA SE at startup and (among others) learns which traffic should be handled by ZPA. This is based on FQDNs, wildcard-domains and (occasionally) IP ranges, and is defined in the global ZPA admin Dashboard.

2. The user starts the SSH client and initiates a session to server01.safemarch.com. ZCC intercepts the DNS request, sees that it matches the ZPA config and forwards it to the ZPA SE