ZPA segment rule logic confounds me

ZPA newbie here and while I’m loving the functionality over our soon to be retired Anyconnect infrastructure, I must say the segment rule logic is driving me nuts. I’ve been doing firewalls/routers for like 25 years, so either my brain is too stuck in the classic firewall/ACL rule ordering world, I am missing something entirely, or the ZPA rule logic needs a revision…

Best way to describe my frustration is with an example I opened a case for:

Segment name: DC Ports access
applications: dc01.domain_com and dc02.domain_com
ports: 88/TCP, 389/TCP/UDP, 445/TCP, 135/TCP, etc
bypass: on corporate network
server group: DC (contains dc01.domain_com and dc02.domain_com)
Belongs in ALL access control policies

Segment name: IT RDP Anywhere
applications: *.domain.com_
ports: 3389/TCP
bypass: on corporate network
server group: Dynamic Catch All (dynamic servers)
Belongs ONLY in IT access control policy (triggers only for members of IT department)

Problem: Whenever a member of IT tried to RDP to a domain controller, the connection would fail. RDP to other servers would work.

So I opened a ticket for the above and the tech explained that the first segment would trigger because it has the DC’s explicitly listed, despite the port not existing, and that takes precedence over the wildcard that does have the port. So then my question was “ok, well how do I fix it?”. “Add 3389 to the first segment” he said. “Um, well I don’t want my users to be able to RDP to the domain controllers, so no, what else can I do?”. “You will need to then explicitly add those DC’s to your RDP Anywhere-IT segment then”. “Ok, so you’re saying that for EVERY segment rule that has an explicitly defined server that DOESN’T contain port 3389, I will need to add it to my RDP everywhere segment?”. “Yes”, he said.