Zscaler vs Microsoft

Hey all,

I am pretty new to Zscaler, I have completed all the administrator and professional training other than the practical lab. I just started a new job in an environment that seems to have daily issues with Zscaler. They have been using Zscaler since last November.

We are having a lot of issues with o365 applications and when I look at logs while from a quick view it doesn’t seem anything is being blocked, I can point out blocks of sometimes 2-6 events of a specific user attempting to login.microsoftonline.com in the same second. Has anyone seen and resolved this before? It isn’t just that specific request I see, users in our environment are generally producing a little over half of their logs as bandwidth loss to Microsoft services every day as far back as I have gone.

We have all the o365 default configurations in place that come with enabling One Click in Administration > Advanced Settings. I have read through several articles on here dating back to 2017 covering issues with o365. I have seen disable loopback restriction in the app profile, set the MTU to 1370 in the forwarding profile, and I have read that people are still coming to the conclusions of SSL Bypassing everything in regards to Microsoft o365 applications/services? I don’t understand the reasoning in going zero-trust to just punch a bunch of holes in the service with SSL Bypasses…

My main reason for this post is I want to know if everyone that came to the conclusion of bypass all went through the configurations available in the administrator portal? Cloud applications status, Tenant Profiles, SaaS Application Tenants, and Partnership Integrations (specifically Microsoft Cloud App Security) all seem like configurations should be in place here specific to our environments.